Review: Runner, Runner (2013)

Runner Runner

runner

Inconvincible

IMDB synopsis:

When a poor college student who cracks an online poker game goes bust, he arranges a face-to-face with the man he thinks cheated him, a sly offshore entrepreneur.

Director: Brad Furman

Cast: Justin Timberlake, Ben Affleck, Anthony Mackie, Gemma Arterton

Duration: 91 minutes

Genre: Crime

Watch if you like: Broken City, Reindeer Games, Limitless and 21.

Richie is a Princeton student who earns his bucks by promoting an online gambling website. When the school finds out, they ask him to stop or leave Princeton. He then decides to go all-in on his last night. And (surprise, surprise) that’s when he loses it all. He’s convinced he got played and decides to go to the King of Gamble in Costa Rica, Ivan Block (Ben Affleck).

With a great cast, I had expected more of this movie. Justin plays a good and believable role as Richie, but Ben Affleck seems a bit over the top and it’s hard to convince me of this movie being great. Gemma Arterton is a beautiful actress, but I’m not convinced either. Then there’s Anthony Mackie as FBI Agent Shavers. I love this guy. I love him in “The Hurt Locker”, “What’s Your Number?” and “Man on a Ledge”, but I don’t love him in “Runner, Runner”. The entire thing is just mediocre. Really sad, too, because it could’ve been much better. If you ask me, Ivan Block should have been played by Liev Schreiber or Charlie Hunnam, and Gemma should have been replaced by Dania Ramirez or Minka Kelly, for example. But maybe changing it up wouldn’t have been the answer either. Who knows.

I really wanted to like this movie, but apart from it being simply entertaining, it’s not a movie I would say is a must-watch. If you’re a movie fanatic like me, I understand that you have to watch this one. But if you’re in for a good movie night, try something else.

My rating: 6 out of 10

My favorite quote: “The house always wins, which is why we don’t have to cheat people.”

My suggestion: It’s fine for some unbelievable entertainment, and the characters are easy on the eyes. Let me just say this: I’m glad “Runner, Runner” only lasted 91 minutes. It’s more than enough.

Leave a Reply

