Review: Killing Season (2013)

Killing Season

killing

Kill me now.

IMDB synopsis:

Two veterans of the Bosnian War — one American, one Serbian — find their unlikely friendship turn tense with one of them reveals their true intentions.

Director: Mark Steven Johnson

Cast: Robert De Niro, John Travolta and Milo Ventimiglia.

Duration: 91  minutes

Genre: Crime

Watch if you like: Blitz, Red Dawn, Daredevil and The Grey

Not at all what you’d expect of a movie with John Travolta and Robert de Niro. It’s a slow movie and a bit of a joke. John Travolta and his so-called Bosnian accent are truly hilarious, and I wasn’t sure if this was an action movie or just a comedy. Still, I watched the whole thing, but don’t expect me to tell you to go watch this movie. The constant running around and tying each other up is pretty tiring.

Here’s my summary of the movie (with a wink):

Cranky old guy lives all alone in the woods, and doesn’t want to be part of his family’s life, because his ex-wife has a perfect husband and thus better father to his son (Milo Ventimiglia, yum). He served in the Bosnian war and there he had to shoot Emil Kovac (John Travolta), and obviously he failed. Emil comes back for old Benjamin Ford and it seems they can be great friends. Emil will make you laugh (at least, I almost fell off my chair!) with his Bosnian accent, en Benjamin will not surprise you in the least. And if you like torture scenes, you’re in the right place.

A pretty unsurprising movie, no weird twists or original scenes. I can’t tell if John Travolta plays a great Bosnian veteran or just the entire opposite. I find it hard to take this movie seriously. But please, if you are reading this and you have seen this movie, I would love to hear your take on this movie! Let me know in a reply.

Oh, one great thing: the amazing views!

My rating: 5 out of 10

My suggestion: Dees ees crazy movie. Plees don’t pay für it!

Leave a Reply

