Review: The Smurfs 2 (2013)

The Smurfs 2

smurfs

Let’s just keep in mind this is meant to get kids to shut up.

IMDB synopsis:

The Smurfs team up with their human friends to rescue Smurfette, who has been kidnapped by Gargamel since she knows a secret spell that can turn the evil sorcerer’s newest creation – creatures called the Naughties – into real Smurfs.

Director: Raja Gosnell

Cast: Neil Patrick Harris, Jayma Mays, Hank Azaria, Katy Perry, Christina Ricci

Duration: 105 minutes

Genre: Animation – Comedy

Watch if you like: Night at the Museum, Garfield, Alvin and the Chipmunks, Yogi Bear.

Nothing like a nice animation movie that’ll make you want to be a kid again. At least, that’s what I thought. I’m sorry, but I just can’t stand Gargamel (Hank Azaria), and not in a ‘Gargamel is evil and wants to get all the smurfs, mommy!’ kind of way. I can’t stand Gargamel, because he annoys the crap out of me. Why can’t it be a nice kiddie movie with the nice smurfs, and Smurfette and Papa Smurf, and the nice Neil Patrick Harris as Patrick and Jayma Mays as Grace? No, there has to be this annoying character called Gargamel. The first movie, I didn’t really get annoyed that quickly by Gargamel, but this sequel makes me cringe every time he’s in a scene. So, I searched within myself why. Is it Hank Azaria and the acting or Gargamel and his horrible denture? I think it’s both. I am just not a big fan of ol’ Hank. First as David in “Friends”, and then as all kinds of not-so-funny characters in differents roles.

Anyway, back to the movie then. The Smurfs 2 was ok. But only because the smurfs are just so damn cute. And I love Neil Patrick Harris and Jayma Mays, and I like that Smurfette’s voice is Katy Perry’s and Christina Ricci as Vexy’s voice. And the whole lighthearded feeling you get while watching it is nice as well. With a nice jolly song at the end by Britney Spears (Ooh La La).

My rating: 5.5 out of 10.

My favorite quote: “He’s blue-tiful.” You can also find “11 Smurfingly Bad Puns” on this site.

My suggestion: If you’re in the mood for an animation movie, I recommend “Despicable Me” (1&2), “Rio” or just go for a classic, like “Bambi”. But “The Smurfs 2”? Nah, don’t do it. Unless you have kids with ADD, then go for it. It’ll shut them up.

One thought on “Review: The Smurfs 2 (2013)

Leave a Reply

