Review: Trouble with the Curve (2012)

Trouble with the Curve

trouble

Let’s put a smile on that face o’ yours!

IMDB synopsis:

An ailing baseball scout in his twilight years takes his daughter along for one last recruiting trip.

Director: Robert Lorenz

Cast: Clint Eastwood, Amy Adams, Justin Timberlake, John Goodman

Duration: 111 minutes

Genre: Drama

Watch if you like: Gran Torino, Coach Carter, The Descendants and As Good As It Gets.

A sports movie, with a surprisingly good script about the difficult relationship between a daughter and father. With the 83-year old Clint Eastwood as the grumpy Gus, Amy Adams as the reluctant Mickey and Justin Timberlake as Johnny, who aspires to be a famous sports announcer. This one will make you feel all kinds of emotions, it’s that good!

The relationship between Gus and Mickey is strained, and you really root for them to make it all right. Then there’s Johnny who lightens up the movie with his amazing personality, his funny lines and romantic gestures. Clint Eastwood is an actor that I appreciate more and more over the years. Too bad he doesn’t act as often as he used to, though that’s completely understandable. Amy Adams  is also someone who isn’t one of my favorites, but is also climbing on my list of best actresses. First in “Julie & Julia”, then “The Fighter” and I can’t wait to see her in “American Hustle”. Then there’s Justin Timberlake who gets an A+ in my book. Ofcourse, he can sing, and I’m a fan. But I’m usually not into the whole ‘singer turned actor’-thing, but Justin pulls it off perfectly. I thought he was good in “Alpha Dog” and “Black Snake Moan”, really good in “The Social Network”, “Friends with Benefits” and “In Time” and constantly growing as an actor, as in “Runner Runner”.

I watched this movie with my dad, since he grew up with dear old Clint. And I didn’t really expect much, but I thought it was surprisingly good! The perfect father-daughter movie.

My favorite quote:

Johnny: “So, what do you think about dinner?”

Mickey: “You mean together?”

Johnny: “That’s a little forward, don’t you think? But, if you’re asking me out, then, yes, I accept.”

My rating: 7.5 out of 10

My suggestion: Plan a father-daughter night and make it a special one, with Clint and Amy as a perfect watch.

Want to stay ahead on the reviews? Go to Watch a Flick for more movie reviews!

Leave a Reply

