Review: Now You See Me (2013)

Now You See Me

now you see me

What a great show!

IMDB synopsis:

An FBI agent and an Interpol detective track a team of illusionists who pull off bank heists during their performances and reward their audiences with the money.

Director: Louis Leterrier

Cast: Jesse Eisenberg, Mark Ruffalo, Woody Harrelson, Isla Fisher, Dave Franco, Morgan Freeman and Michael Caine

Duration: 115 minutes

Genre: Crime – Thriller

Watch if you like: Man on a Ledge, Ocean’s Eleven, 16 Blocks and The Italian Job.

Everywhere I looked, it was all raving reviews for this movie, but it was only last month that I finally got to watch this movie. And, very unoriginal, yes, I know, but I loved it!

Let me just rewrite the synopsis displayed above. The Four Horsemen, four incredibly popular magicians in Las Vegas, are the mice in this cat-and-mouse show. With the FBI (Ruffalo and Laurent) as the felines. Almost every scene beholds another twist and with every twist comes a racking of brains while figuring out how in the world they do their tricks.

It’s a surprising and original movie and it’s truly difficult to compare other movies to this must-watch. The fantasy twist this movie creates is very clever and entertaining. At the end everything comes together in a smart and surprising fashion.

Let’s talk about the cast. Isla Fisher surprised me the most. First as a shopaholic in “Confessions of a Shopaholic” to deceiving magician in “Now You See Me”. How great is she? And French actress Mélanie Laurent was also very good as an FBI rookie. Dave Franco in a more serious role isn’t bad at all. Jesse Eisenberg I don’t dislike, but don’t love either. But that didn’t stop me from liking his character in “Now you See Me”, which is a huge compliment coming from me. Mark Ruffalo is his succesful good-guy self, and Morgan Freeman stands his own very well in every movie, it seems like.

My rating: 8 out of 10

My favorite quote: “The more you think you see, the less you’ll actually notice.”

My suggestion: if you feel like watching a smart, cunning and greatly entertaining movie, I suggest you stop with whatever you’re doing (oh, you’re reading my blog, please keep on reading, I kinda like it), and just go watch this show of a movie! Oh, and please let me know what you thought of the movie when you’re done watching it.

Leave a Reply

