30 Day Movie Challenge: Day 9

The '30 Day Movie Challenge' List

The ’30 Day Movie Challenge’ List

Day 9: A movie that I practically know the whole script of

The Notebook and Titanic and Dirty Dancing

This one wasn’t just tough, it’s nearly impossible. These three movies are the ones I practically know the whole script of.

I wrote about The Notebook on my 5th day challenge, and I wrote about Titanic on my first day challenge, as they are my favorite movie and my favorite drama movie.

But don’t y’all remember Patrick Swayze (may he rest in peace) as a dance god in Dirty Dancing? And the nearly forgotten Jennifer Grey as Baby (random fact: Jennifer Grey plays Mindy in the first season of Friends!).

patrickswayze

I sure hope this 1987 movie will still be watched by our children and our children’s children. That the water scene is something of a romantic dream for all the future (and present-day) girls. That dirty dancing will always be connected to the employees of Kellerman’s resort. That in a hundred years there will still be someone who finds the magic in this movie, because let’s face it: “Nobody puts Baby in the corner!”

More memorable quotes (to get to that point of practically knowing the whole script):

–          Baby: “I carried a watermelon”

–          Penny: “Oh, come on, ladies. God wouldn’t have given you maracas if He didn’t want you to shake ’em.”

–          Baby: “Me? I’m scared of everything. I’m scared of what I saw, I’m scared of what I did, of who I am, and most of all I’m scared of walking out of this room and never feeling the rest of my whole life the way I feel when I’m with you.”

–          Baby: “You were right, Johnny. You can’t win no matter what you do!”

dirty dancing

2 thoughts on “30 Day Movie Challenge: Day 9

  1. Oh my God I can’t believe I didn’t know those characters are played by the same woman! (Baby and Mindy, I mean). I always knew there was something familiar about Mindy… Friends is the one thing I know practically by heart 😛
    I’ve seen Dirty Dancing once, Titanic twice (or thrice?) and The Notebook is the film I always watch when I’m sick, because it’s just so great and it makes me feel better instantly – even though it also makes me cry…

Leave a Reply

