TV Shows that got cancelled, but were actually really good! Part 2

The next 10 of my list of great tv shows that got cancelled! The first ten you can find here.

TV Shows

11. The Event. A great sci-fi show on government conspiracy with its intriguing mysteries. I was hooked from the first episode. And its interesting actors were also a reason for me to watch further (isn’t it always about the actors with me?). Sarah Roemer (“Disturbia”), Blair Underwood (“Sex and the City” and “Dirty Sexy Money”) and Scott Gordon-Patterson (“Gilmore Girls”) were a couple of the actors that caught my attention. The original plotline is fascinating, with the main character looking for his missing girlfriend and stumbling on unexpected facts. It could be compared to Lost, Flash Forward and the movie Vantage Point, at least in my opinion. My rating: 7 out of 10.

12. FlashForward. Like The Event, this is an original sci-fi show. Not on government conspiracy, but on an earth-wide blackout. With the blackout come flashes into the future and with the FBI looking into this, facts come to light. This was truly a spectacular tv show with stars like John Cho (“Off Centre” and “Harold & Kumar”), Joseph Fiennes (“American Horror Story”) and Sonya Walger and Dominic Monaghan from “Lost”. My rating: 7 out of 10.

13. Being Erica. So sad this show got cancelled! I truly loved this feel-good show. A bit of fantasy and a bit of comedy truly made this show great. Four seasons was just not enough to satisfy my television needs. Dr. Tom and Erica Strange really make this show come alive. With Erica starting out as a patient and making it as a therapist. The not-so-perfect romance between Erica and Kai, Erica and Adam and Erica and Ethan. The growing appreciation for Julianne and Brent and simply the beautiful Canadian city, Toronto. All this and the great acting, makes this an amazing show! My rating: 9 out of 10.

14. Medium. Patricia Arquette, as the star of the show, is not shy of fame. Married to Nicolas Cage for over 6 years, and again married a famous actor, Thomas Jane, before divorcing him 5 years later. Sister of David Arquette, and thus former sister-in-law of Courteney Cox. But most importantly, a great frikkin’ actress and “Medium” is simply amazing. And it’s not strange this tv show lasted for seven seasons. This series always reminded me of other mystery shows I liked, like “Charmed”. Patricia plays Alison, who is a modern ‘psychic’ and helps the District Attorney’s office with her special abilities. If not for her gift, this could be a very realistic show. With family drama (three kids), and her goofy husband, Joe, who will make you laugh for sure. Every episode talks about a new crime, which she helps solve through her dreams. Very touching, every time she helps crack a case and helps another person. Amazing show which is worth your while. My rating: 8 out of 10.

15. Ghost Whisperer. Another one of those great series with a fantasy twist (is it obvious yet I love those?). Jennifer Love Hewitt (“I Know What You Did Last Summer”) plays newlywed Melinda Gordon who has a special ability: she can talk to the dead and tries to help them get into the light. She runs an antique store and meanwhile talks to ghosts. This show is fun, touching and compelling and lasts for five seasons. Comparable to “Medium” and “Charmed”, but let’s not compare these great shows. They can stand on their own very well. I would like to rate this show with an 8, but after a couple of seasons, it gets a bit too dark for me. Still worth watching, though! My rating: 7 out of 10.

16. Heroes. Whatever Tim Kring does, I want to know about it. Including “Heroes” and its four seasons. Ali Larter (“Final Destination”), Hayden Panettiere (“Ally McBeal” and “Scream4”), Milo Ventimiglia (“Gilmore Girls”), Zachary Quinto (“Star Trek”, “24” and “American Horror Story”) and many more. In other words, an all-star cast! But this sci-fi/fantasy tv show isn’t just about the cast. With every character another special ability, comes another compelling story. So exciting to follow. Abilities like flying, the ability to heal, time travel and multiple personalities make you want to watch the whole series in one go. If you liked “X-Men” and/or “Smallville”, this is a must-watch! My rating: 8 out of 10.

17. Mercy. You might call this hospital series unoriginal, and I get that. Truly, I do, but still, I liked it. Ofcourse, the cast helped. Taylor Schilling (“Orange is the New Black”) is truly amazing as an actress (and ofcourse she is, she’s Bostonian). Then there’s Michelle Trachtenberg (“Buffy” and “Gossip Girl”) as a young nurse and James Tupper (“Men in Trees” and “Revenge) as my favorite doctor. “Mercy” is about a veteran nurse who has relationship troubles and it has a nice one (and only) season. My rating: 6 out of 10.

18. Ugly Betty. Who doesn’t know Betty and her great fashion choices? America Ferrera plays a great naive and unexperienced fashion assistent and her hard work actually makes her earn her job title. I had some great laughs during the four seasons it consists of. And with Vanessa Williams (“Desperate Housewives” and famous singer. Think Disney’s Pocahontas “Colors of the Wind”) and Rebecca Romijn (“X-Men” and she has Dutch ancestry!) added to the mix, the drama was greatly entertaining. IMDB gives a rating of 6 out of 10, but I think it earns a bit more credit than that. My rating: 7 out of 10.

19. Dollhouse. Let me first say, I wish I was like Eliza Dushku. She is so cool and tough! (Oh oh, do I have a girl crush?) First the bad-ass vampire slayer in “Buffy, the vampire slayer”, and then she made me happy as the star in this mystery series. Eliza plays Echo/Caroline as one of the futuristic ‘Dolls’. Caroline volunteers to be Echo in exchange for a great deal of money. Her memory gets erased, like all the other ‘Dolls’, to finally get false memories for different tasks. But slowly she starts remembering herself, her old life and the reason she chose this life. With Joss Whedon, you’d think it would last forever, but only two seasons had to satisfy me. Every episode is intriguing and please, let’s talk more about Eliza. Can’t wait for her next bad-ass project. My rating: 8 out of 10.

20. Eastwick. Three witches in modern-day life, ring a bell? I’m not talking about Piper, Phoebe and Prue. No, Eastwick is about Kat, Joanna and Roxie. Oh, I was so happy to hear about this show coming out. As a true die-hard “Charmed” fan, I thought my dreams had come true. At least for one season, it did. Rebecca Romijn (there she is again!) and Lindsay Price (“Lipstick Jungle”) as witches, they were amazing. Supernatural made funny. I was really disappointed this show got cancelled after only one season. Immediately, you fend for the girls when they get into tricky situations. It’s all about girl power. “Eastwick” was great, but nothing can beat “Charmed”. My rating: 7 out of 10.

Next 10 of my list is coming soon!

Want to stay informed on freshly cancelled shows? Here’s the perfect website for you.

Which of these 10 titles is your favorite?

3 thoughts on “TV Shows that got cancelled, but were actually really good! Part 2

  1. At least Medium, Ugly Betty and Ghost Whisperer – all good shows – had a few seasons going for them, but shows like Dollhouse had roughly two seasons. I think the issue with Dollhouse was that after a while it felt like it kept repeating each episode… Still loved it, though, and I am glad we had at least like a closed chapter. Another Show I was very sad to see leave was Tru Calling. Highly underrated and had the same problem, but when it made progress they decided to cancel it, and left the viewers clueless about what’s about to happen. It was upsetting. So upsetting.

    • I totally agree! Tru Calling was so good, I actually bought it on DVD. And if I’m right, Tru Calling is on my list as well somewhere. Maybe part 3 😉

      • yayyyy! 😀 I bought it on DVD, too, like 6 years ago… Too bad they don’t reboot certain shows, I mean they do it with movies that weren’t successful

Leave a Reply

