TV Shows that got cancelled, but were actually really good!

I hope to get you to say at least “Oh, yeah! I remember that one! That WAS good!” once, with this list of television shows that got cancelled along the way. This list includes 32 forgotten tv series and my personal rating, and I’d like to start with 10 of them to get you warmed up. I have seen them all, and I wasn’t happy when they got cancelled. But probably, there just weren’t enough viewers (will I ever be enough?). And there are always other shows that can fill that hole. But that’s for a later blog.

Series cancelled

  1. Terra Nova. A science fiction/adventure series that (in my humble opinion) is a mix of Lost and Jurassic Park. It’s not what you might expect, and you might get a bit attached to the Shannon family. With the handsome Jason O’Mara as Jim and the beautiful Shelley Conn as the mom, it’s also a great sight to watch. Without getting into too much specifics, let me just say this: One season is not enough! My rating: 8 out of 10.
  2. Jane by design. This comedic/dramatic story centers on Jane, a high school girl who tries to lie her way into the fashion world. With Andie MacDowell as her fashion boss (think Meryl Streep in The Devil wears Prada) and guest appearances by Teri Hatcher makes it even more interesting. And I find Erica Dasher as Jane really lovely. Unfortunately, only one season to enjoy the dramatics of the fashion industry. My rating: 8 out of 10.
  3. Body of proof. This show isn’t another medical television show. Dana Delany stars as Megan, who is an odd medical examiner and always pokes her nose into the crimes done to her patients. If you like House, then maybe this might also be a show for you. At least for the three seasons it has. My rating: 6 out of 10.
  4. Up all night. With Christina Applegate and Maya Rudolph as its stars, I was hooked immediately. Those two are a match made in heaven and two seasons aren’t enough at all! This tv show makes you laugh and for the parents among us, you might even recognize some scenarios. And, just to repeat myself, Maya Rudolph is just one of the funniest actresses of this time. My rating: 7 out of 10.
  5. Touch. Tim Kring (“Heroes”) as its creator, and you might expect this show to be a great hit. Too bad it had to end after two seasons, because this intriguing sci-fi tv series was actually pretty exciting with Kiefer Sutherland as its main character. Every single person is connected to one another and every little thing can affect the world. People who like Fringe, I advise them to give this one a try as well. My rating: 7 out of 10.
  6. Private Practice. With its six seasons, this is again one of Shonda Rhimes’ hit series. As a spin-off of Grey’s Anatomy, I really want to say this one’s even better. But not all will agree with me on that one. I love its comedic aspects and the drama of romances, rehab stints, family issues and its shocking scenes. The cast is also incredible, with Kate Walsh (great actress), Taye Diggs (one word: wow) and Paul Adelstein (also known as Paul Kellerman in Prison Break). Truly a beautiful show with a mature and entertaining storyline. My rating: 10 out of 10.
  7. Ringer. Sarah Michelle Gellar (“Buffy, the Vampire Slayer”) stars in this one-season tv series. And I actually almost cried when I found out there wouldn’t be a second season. Its storyline seems simple, but is actually pretty original. SMG plays Bridget and Siobhan, twin sisters. Bridget needs to outrun her life and decides to take on her sister’s identity. Really exciting stuff! My rating: 7 out of 10.
  8. Pan Am. A historic drama with the handsome Mike Vogel (“Under the Dome”) as a Pan Am pilot and Christina Ricci (“Sleepy Hollow”, “Ally McBeal” and “Monster”) as a flight attendant. Pan Am takes on historic facts and depicts the captivating way of flying, back in the day. My rating: 6 out of 10.
  9. Hawthorne. Again, this isn’t just another medical drama. Hawthorne has a great dynamic that centers not only on the doctors, but also on other staff in the hospital. Jada Pinkett Smith isn’t just Will Smith’s wife, but a great actress all on her own. And it shows in this medical drama in which she plays the hospital’s chief nursing officer. However nice this series was, three seasons was quite enough . But I sure hope Jada starts something new that’s worth watching. My rating: 6 out of 10.
  10. Off the Map. This is one of those tv shows that I wish could last just a bit longer than one season. First, its cast was good, with Jason George (“Grey’s Anatomy”), Rachelle Lefevre (“Twilight” and “Under the Dome”), Mamie Gummer (“Emily Owens, M.D.”) and Martin Henderson who starred in “Toxic” by Britney Spears. Second, this drama is adventurous, with its doctors working in the jungle in South America. Each doctor has its own little drama, and romance can’t be missed in a medical drama, of course! My rating: 7 out of 10.

Next 10 of my list is coming soon!

Want to stay informed on freshly cancelled shows? Here’s the perfect website for you.

Which of these 10 titles is your favorite?

6 thoughts on “TV Shows that got cancelled, but were actually really good!

  1. It’s funny I started watching none of these shows, just because I knew they were going to get cancelled. Sometimes you can tell by the sloppy way of marketing that the show is doomed to fail. I mean all they have to do is put it all over social media, and people will tune in if it’s catchy enough… That’s how The Following became a huge success, even though it is not THAT great!

Leave a Reply

