30 Day Movie Challenge: Day 5

The '30 Day Movie Challenge' List

The ’30 Day Movie Challenge’ List

Day 5: My favorite drama movie

The Notebook

For me, this is one of the classics. No Romeo and Juliet for me. Noah and Allie will do.

First of all, if you haven’t already, go read this book! Stat! Nicholas Sparks is such a romantic writer, I devour all of his books. And I am certainly not the only one out there who does. Then there’s the movie, with two beautiful people who star in this romantic dramedy. Ryan Gosling and Rachel McAdams really look amazing, but what else is new?

Noah is a simple boy who works as a lumberjack and lives with his father. At a fair he falls head over heels with Allie, a well-to-do girl with parents with expectations and rules. This makes for a classic love story that will make you laugh, cry and hopeful.

notebook

Some of my favorite scenes:

The one where Allie is a bird. The one where Noah lies on the street. The one where Allie finds out about the house. The one where old Allie finally catches up. The one where Allie and Noah kiss in the rain. The one at the end.

Here’s a couple of quotes from The Notebook that I love.

Noah (to Allie): “If you’re a bird, I’m a bird.”

Duke (reading): “It was an improbable romance. He was a country boy. She was from the city. She had the world at her feet, while he didn’t have two dimes to rub together.”

Duke (reading, about Noah): “He got the notion into his head that if he restored the old house where they had come that night, Allie would find a way to come back to him. Some called it a labor of love. Others called it something else. But in fact, Noah had gone a little mad.”

Duke (to his adult children): “Look, guys. That’s my sweetheart in there. I’m not leaving her. This is my home now. Your mother is my home.”

Allie: “You’re gonna get run over.” Noah: “By all the cars?”

Let me just tell you one more thing. This is important now, so pay attention. This kind of love is out there. I know it and I assure it. My advise to you: don’t stop waiting for your Noah or Allie.

2 thoughts on “30 Day Movie Challenge: Day 5

Leave a Reply

