Review: Prisoners (2013)

Prisoners

prisoners

Let’s crack this puzzle.

IMDB synopsis:

When Keller Dover’s daughter and her friend go missing, he takes matters into his own hands as the police pursue multiple leads and the pressure mounts. But just how far will this desperate father go to protect his family?

Director: Denis Villeneuve

Cast: Hugh Jackman, Jake Gyllenhaal, Viola Davis, Maria Bello and Terrence Howard

Duration: 153 minutes

Genre: Crime

Watch if you like: Collateral, Edge of Darkness, Law Abiding Citizen and Taken.

I know 153 minutes is a long time to sit still, but this one will make it worth your while. This one is a puzzle that’s hard to crack.

Hugh Jackman is finally working his way out of his “Wolverine”-hole, is what I think. “Real Steel”, “Les Misérables” and now as Keller Dover in “Prisoners”. Truly an amazing role, and he plays it perfectly.

The rest of the cast is also admirable. Jake Gyllenhaal is giving his best in “Prisoners” to date, and that’s counting his role in “End of Watch” as well, in which he was truly great. I liked Maria Bello from the start, because she was always the tough chick in movies. First in “Coyote Ugly”, then in “Abduction”, and here we are two Golden Globes later (not to mention her nominations). I think Maria Bello is about to do great things, and I want to be in the front row for it! Then there’s Viola Davis and Terrence Howard. Viola is a very underrated actress, and she deserves a lot of thumbs-ups. She didn’t win the Oscar for The Help, but her role in this one was truly epic. And Terrence is also fantastic, and pretty famous, right? Remember “Big Momma’s House”? Or “Four Brothers” or “The Brave One”? If not, then you’ll know him for sure as Rhodey in “Iron Man”.

Back to the subject at hand: “Prisoners”. I was afraid of getting bored because of the duration of the movie, but nothing like that ever happened. This movie was suspenseful from beginning to end, and it even surprised me. I like movies that can surprise me. That the plot isn’t predictable, like so many movies today.

Grab the edge of your seat, because you are going to need to hold on. This one is a must-watch.

My rating: 8 out of 10.

My favorite quotes:  “He’s not a person anymore. No, he stopped being a person when he took our daughters.” & “Where is my daughter? I’m not having Christmas without my daughter!”

My suggestion: You ready for some suspense and surprising twists? Go and get ready asap!

One thought on “Review: Prisoners (2013)

Leave a Reply

